How Many Pieces are in a Chess Set

Bernie Hubble
Written by
Last update:

How Many Pieces Are There in a Chess Set?

Chess is a game that is not based on luck, but on strategy. The game is played on a board of 64 squares by combining 32 pieces to create a strategic battle between black and white.

There are an equal amount of black and white pieces to help promote even competition between the two players. The board is rectangular in shape with eight rows of eight squares on each side. The player places the pieces in the two rows right in front of him with rules and limitations on which quadrant they can be placed in.

The following are the 32 pieces that are used to create the game of chess:

  • Black (pawn) = 8
  • White (pawn) = 8
  • King (king) = 2
  • Queen (queen) = 2
  • Rook (rook) = 4
  • Bishop (bishop) = 4
  • Knight (knight) = 4

How Many Pieces Are There in a Chess Set and What Are They Called?

Chess is a two-player strategy board game that is believed to have originated in India, between the 6th and 4th centuries. It has since evolved and spread to every continent in the world and is played by people of all ages and levels of ability to this day.

The Pawns

Chess pawns are the most numerous of all chess pieces, accounting for the majority of the pieces played with on a chess board. Depending on the type of chess set, they may be considered to be in three different sizes for the sake of use.

The Rook, Tower, or Castle

The Rook is the largest chess piece on the beach and is considered the one of the best pieces on the board.

The Rook has the power to move sideways, as well as forwards and backwards.

The Rook’s value on the board is 5 points.

The Knight

A pawn promotion is one of the ways a game of chess can gain new momentum.

A promotion gives a pawn the opportunity to become another chess piece, most commonly a queen which had been captured.

A player can choose to promote a pawn when it reaches a certain point in the board, namly the other end of the board.

This is, however, not mandatory as the player can decide to leave the pawn be and have it act as a regular piece. However, that would be pretty useless.

Upon reaching the eighth rank of the board, a pawn can be promoted to a previously captured rook, knight, or a queen.

A rook is a piece that can move sideways as well as backwards or forwards in a straight line.

A queen is a piece that can move right and left or backwards or forwards as well as in a diagonal line It's the most versatile piece.

In some games, there is the option for the player to choose. He or she may opt to promote to a rook, knight or a queen, but not all.

If a player chooses to promote to a rook or other, his or her turn is finished. A new player takes his or her place.

The Bishop

The Bishop is one of two different chess piece that it can move diagonally along the board. In addition, the bishop can also move in the opposite direction of the king. This makes the bishop a very powerful piece resulting in a lot of uses in the game.

In addition to this, the bishop can also come into play, if the king is in danger. The knight may have to move in an L-shape to reach the king, while the bishop can come to the king with a diagonal. The bishop may be the weakest piece on its own at times, but with the help of the knight and the king, it may be able to have a strong attack.

The Queen

There has been a debate going around for years. Which chess piece is the most powerful? The king or the queen?

In truth, there is a lot of debate especially considering the fact that the queen doesn’t even move straight.

But what a lot of people may not realize is that the queen is the most powerful piece in chess. In fact, according to a chess Grandmaster and chairperson of the Global Association of Chess Professionals and chess champion Bobby Fischer chose to depict the queen as the most powerful piece in chess.

When you have the queen, you can move in eight different directions for as long as there's not an oponents piece or the board ends. The king, on the other hand, only moves one square at a time.

However, the king makes or breaks the game. Once it's catpured the game is over. And because of this, some people have argued that the king is actually the piece that’s most powerful. But even these people can’t argue the fact that the queen has more agility in the ways that she can move in than the king.

In my own opinion, I’ve always believed that the queen is the most powerful piece. First of all, she can move in eight different directions and the queen is the only piece that can do that at scale.

The King

Queen, Rook, Bishop and Knight make up the five types of chess pieces in a chess set. The King is the most important piece and for that reason, should be placed in a well guarded spot of the board. This point is the furthest away from his opponent’s pieces.

The Rook is a tower-like piece that moves in straight lines and has no specific increments. It is the only chess piece that can move in such a manner. The Bishop is a chess piece with an arrow-like shape pointed in one of the four cardinal directions. It moves diagonally.

The queen is able to move in all directions: vertically, horizontally, and diagonally. Knights are the third-most powerful pieces in the game. They move diagonally in unique increments. Always two squares straight and then one square at a righ angle to the left or right. All chess pieces can be captured and once the king is captured the game is over.

The pawn, an offensive and defensive piece, can only be captured on its own. It is also the only piece that has the option to move forward two squares or one square forward at the beginning.

The side which made the last move has the first move in the next round of play. All of the chess pieces, except the knight, can move to any of the squares surrounding it. The pawn, like previously mentioned, may move either one or two squares when the game starts.